COUNCIL APPOINTMENTS FOR 2020/2021

This is the pro-forma for appointments in 2020/2021

The Executive Members and Assistant Executive Members

EXECUTIVE BOARD		
Leader of the Council and Chair of Executive Board	Mohammed Khan	
The following appointments have been made by the Leader of the Council:		
Deputy Leaders of the Council	1: Phil Riley (senior) 2: leaving it vacant for time being	
Vice Chair of Executive Board	Phil Riley	
PORTFOLIOS	Executive Member	Assistant Executive Member
Adult Services & Prevention	Mustafa Desai	Maryam Batan Shaukat Hussain Jackie Floyd
Public Health & Wellbeing	Damian Talbot	Brian Taylor Zamir Khan
Children's, Young People & Education	Julie Gunn	Maureen Bateson Abdul Patel Patricia McFall
Environmental Services	Jim Smith	Jim Casey Yusuf Jan Virmani
Growth & Development	Phil Riley	Zainab Rawat Jane Oates
Digital & Customer Services	Quesir Mahmood	Salim Sidat
Finance & Governance	Vicky McGurk	Ron Whittle Mahfooz Hussain
The remainder of appointments are for completion by the Group Leaders.		
Opposition Member on Executive Board		

4. Appoint Members of Committees

Committee	Labour	Conservative	Lib Dem	IND
Policy & Corporate Resources Overview and Scrutiny Membership Chair Dave Harling Vice-Chair: Kevin Connor	Dave Harling Sylvia Liddle Zainab Rawat Yusuf Jan Virmani Jackie Floyd Saima Afzal Shaukat Hussain Maureen Bateson	Kevin Connor Neil Slater Colin Rigby		
Place - Overview and Scrutiny Committee Membership Chair Suleman Khonat Vice-Chair James Shorrock	Suleman Khonat Jame Shorrock Zamir Khan Maryam Batan Patricia McFall Salim Sidat Brian Taylor	Paul Marrow Julie Slater Derek Hardman		Andy Kay
People Overview and Scrutiny Committee Membership Chair Sylvia Liddle Vice-Chair Ron Whittle	Sylvia Liddle Ron Whittle Parwaiz Akhtar Jane Oates Dave Smith Saima Afzal Mahfooz Hussain	Jacquie Slater Lilian Salton Denise Gee	Roy Davies	
Call In Committee Membership Chair Planning & Highways Committee Membership	Dave Smith Hussain Akhtar Yusuf Jan Virmani Jane Oates Suleman Khonat Zamir Khan	Paul Marrow Jacquie Slater Derek Hardman	Paul Browne	

Committee	Labour	Conservative	Lib Dem	IND
Vice-Chair Hussain Akhtar	Dave Harling Phil Riley			
Licensing Committee Membership Chair Parwaiz Akhtar Vice-Chair Stephanie Brookfield	Parwaiz Akhtar Stephanie Brookfield Maryam Batan Brian Taylor Mahfooz Hussain Jim Casey Zamir Khan	Denise Gee Lilian Salton John Slater		Tasleem Fazal
Audit and Governance Committee Membership Chair: Ron Whittle Vice Chair: Mahfooz Hussain	Ron Whittle Mahfooz Hussain Maureen Bateson Abdul Patel	Neil Slater		Andy Kay
Standards Committee Membership Chair Saima Afzal Vice-Chair Kevin Connor	Saima Afzal Sylvia Liddle Jim Casey Ron Whittle Zainab Rawat Suleman Khonat	Kevin Connor Neil Slater	Roy Davies	
Health & Wellbeing Board Membership Chair: Mohammed Khan	Mohammed Khan Julie Gunn Mustafa Desai	Julie Slater		

APPOINTMENT TO GROUPS AND PANELS

Committee	Labour	Opposition
Appeals Panel		
Membership 15		
Chief Executive's Employment Committee Membership 4	Mohammed Khan Phil Riley 2 nd Deputy Leader position vacant	John Slater
Chief Officer's Employment Committee Membership 4	Mohammed Khan Phil Riley 2 nd Deputy Leader vacant for time being.	John Slater

The Membership of the Chief Executive and Chief Officer Employment Committees is the Leader of the Council, the two Deputy Leaders and the Leader of the Opposition.

The appointments within Political Groups

LABOUR GROUP	Councillors
Leader	Mohammed Khan
Deputy Leaders	Phil Riley(Senior) 2 nd Position vacant for time being
CONSERVATIVE GROUP	Councillors
Leader	John Slater
Deputy Leaders	Denise Gee and Derek Hardman

Shadow Cabinet	Shadow Executive Member	Shadow Assistant Executive Member
Adult Services & Prevention	Jacquie Slater	John Slater
Public Health & Wellbeing	Julie Slater	Kevin Connor
Children's, Young People & Education	Lilian Salton	Denise Gee
Environmental Services	Jean Rigby	Colin Rigby
Growth & Development	Paul Marrow	Derek Hardman
Digital & Customer Services	Neil Slater	Jacquie Slater
Finance & Governance	Colin Rigby	Jean Rigby

Opposition Committee Spokespersons	
Planning & Highways	Paul Marrow
Licensing	Denise Gee